(g) OctaTimbre/ Another Fall Observation (10.22)

Another Fall Observation
(OctaTimbre – eight words per ten lines)

You wonder sometimes if people are paying attention
Especially when you have to show your identification
Which I did several times this past week
Only one person wished me an early greeting
For my natal day anniversary; mile or millstone?
While the seasons may be changing, I wonder
How much have I? …in my own autumn
Far from my final winter – so I hope.
Daylight decreases, anxiety does not have to increase
As I plod along as I always have…

ŠJP/dh

I actually wrote this before reading this prompt – it fits please see:
https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2017/10/22/sunday-writing-prompt-225-know-thyself/

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction = Fiction or non… Longer Strands = longer verse

OctaTimbre: wordplay on the month of October; an 8 x 10 verse form:
Eight letters (same or different words, symbols), syllables or words by ten lines; in a single or multiple series of stanza. Created in honor of the month of October – octo being 8 and 10 – the tenth month on the secular calendar (by JulesPage September 30th, 2017)
Octa http://www.dictionary.com/browse/octa?s=t octa, octo meaning 8
Timbre http://www.dictionary.com/browse/timbre?s=t timbre because poetry can be like music

13 thoughts on “(g) OctaTimbre/ Another Fall Observation (10.22)

  1. I tend to notice birth dates. I often marked greetings on prescription sacks if within a week of the date. Especially for those who recognize time is passing all too frequently (or as you put in your octa-timbre, the days of autumn and winter). Happy Birthday, Dear JP. ~nan

    Reply
  2. Right then, so now, I must extend my thoughts and say, well done in the serendipity of the moment, and how this piece fits the Sunday Writing prompt, so thanks for including it in the links 🙂

    And since I’ve more or less versed my thoughts already, I will add, I like the closing, about light decreasing and no need for anxiety to increase – because it can be read and understood literally, and then more philosophically, as in the aging and dimming of light/time etc. So this is a neat and tidy reflection and it works perfectly with the theme this week 🙂

    Have a most excellent end of the weekend and I hope the week is a great one to come 🙂

    Reply
  3. Mile or millstone?
    – it’s as you wish and feel it to be –
    While the seasons may be changing, I wonder
    How much have I?
    – questions only you can answer, and more importantly, are you happy with what you discover? –
    in my own autumn
    Far from my final winter – so I hope.
    – indeed, far away, so the hope – and it is to continue on because it must be so –

    lovely piece Jules 🙂

    Reply

Please do Pop in a Like :) if you're happy. As there isn't a like button - This is a PERSONAL ad free blog (WP had ads on free sites). Spam is not allowed. Please read 'The 411 Information Page' as to the how's and why's of how I run my site. URL track backs to code 404's (not found) - not honored.

