(g) Spring in Their Steps (3.4) wp

Observing 4
Spring in Their Steps
(mini haibun with haiku)

The bit of snow not melted from the first
Little piffile puff spat of frozen flakes
Left a white tree shadow on the lawn ~
Cold weather, shadows, did not bother
The woodpecker at the feeder.

Along with some other birdland friends
They only flutter flew briefly disturbed
When I braved the elements to do a quick
Refill of black oil sunflower seeds – I
Had to go back twice to fill my scoop.

a window watcher ~
on days when the weather turns
cold enough to freeze…

©JP/dh


Note: not my backyard. But I do live in PA, USA, so
some of the other birds in the video also visit my feeder.

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction = Fiction or non…   &   Longer Strands = longer verse

