Just Karma 196 September 2016 wp

Just Karma 196
Continuing Education
(a haibun)

Over the years I have paced my area around my home
attempting to maintain a few gardens, adding some trees
to attract the birds and the bees…

The other day I had a gent walk about with me – helping
To identify that which the wind or animals had gifted me –
that which I did not plant myself…

Virginia Creeper, Honeysuckle, Box Elder, Horsechestnut,
just to name a few and others I’ve already forgotten –
perhaps when he comes back to do some clearing I’ll
make myself a booklet for easy identification, but not
at dusk when the mosquitoes choose to nibble us both!

fascinating tour
right in my own gardens; I
find nature teaches

©JP/dh

http://www2.fcps.edu/islandcreekes/ecology/virginia_creeper.htm
The Virginia creeper plant, also called American ivy, ampelopsis and woodbine, can cause
a skin rash, according to the Poison Ivy, Oak & Sumac Information Center. The Virginia creeper
plant has sap that contains oxalate crystals, a substance known to cause skin irritation and rash
….Just because it doesn’t bother some people, does not mean it’s harmless. Although it seems
to affect a small percentage of the population, if you’re one of them – watch out!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Honeysuckle Also attracts Monarch butterflies and Luna moths.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acer_negundo

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction
= Fiction or non… &
Longer Strands
= longer verse

2 thoughts on “Just Karma 196 September 2016 wp

  1. Lovely Jules. I have a list of various wild things that have appeared unaided in my garden. I am amazed by the length of said list although I don’t think I have added anything this year.

Comments are closed.