A-Z for April 2016 S wp

Unofficial A-Z challenge 2016
(On Sundays – still using Kipfer’s book for inspiration for Instant or Just Karma)

“Now is the Time : 170 Ways to Seize the Moment”
By Patrick Lindsay
Now is the time …: to read a classic.

“A great book should leave you with many experiences, and slightly
exhausted. You should lead several lives while reading it.
~ William Styron (1905-2006)

Great Books, Second Looks

I’ve read at least ten out of thirty on the list…
Some more modern than others that one might
Be surprised to find, just because a classic by someone’s definition
That I read somewhere should be at least over fifty years old…

Becoming them, each
And every character ~ to
Breath their fire in dreams

To be refreshed in waking
In the waterfall of dawns

Believing that we
can find some truth between the
Flipping of pages

I have heard of, seen or have some knowledge of several
Of the other titles on a list that bespeaks of thirty literary classics.
Some I have no desire to read, and others I think I would
Enjoy if I read them once again.

©JP/dh
(renga sandwiched by free verse)

(With quotes by famous folks
Whose last names start with the alphabet
Or at least have those ‘tricky letters’ –
U, Q, X & Y in them)

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction
= Fiction or non…   &   Longer Strands = longer verse

.

.

.

.

6 thoughts on “A-Z for April 2016 S wp

  1. 🙂

    The enjoyment and pleasure of slipping into a good book – but then, what defines good? In some moments, it might be a “fluffy chick lit” escape, in another, a mind-bending thriller, in yet another, a historical autobiography. As for defining “classic” – of course we can suggest the “great books” that have withstood the test of time – but is it necessary to read the bulk of a great author like James Joyce … just because?

    And so as the lists rewrite themselves …. it seems to me, that essentially, whether we are aware or not, often the books that reach our hands, speak to us as we work our way through our lives, are “classics” in their own way, no matter the style or genre, whether it be Hemingway or Maeve Binchy. And who is to suggest that “plowing through” something “required” will be of most benefit, use or pleasure, if our soul has not reached for those particular pages?

    Great A-Z 🙂

    Reply
    • I like some fluff books when I am trying to relax. I’ve been reading other things lately that actual books have taken the proverbial back seat. Well reading adult books from cover to cover. I have read a bunch of great children’s literature though. 😉

      I’m thinking Little Miss has benefited too 🙂

      Reply
      • LOL@ Little Miss benefiting! I’m sure she has ….. 😀

        And there is nothing wrong with the “indulgence” of children’s lit – in fact, most adults, myself included, could probably use a healthy dose of this genre more often. 😉

        Reply

Please do Pop in a Like :) if you're happy. As there isn't a like button - This is a PERSONAL ad free blog (WP had ads on free sites). Spam is not allowed. Please read 'The 411 Information Page' as to the how's and why's of how I run my site. URL track backs to code 404's (not found) - not honored.

