ik 339 for February 2016 wp

ik 339
Monkeying Around?

seeing
plenty of
red lanterns, dragons
hongbao – Happy New Year
‘Monkey’

©JP/dh
2.8.16

To the Chinese, red represents good fortune, …around the New Year the color can be seen everywhere in Chinese cities: red lanterns hang in doorways; red paper cutouts adorn windows. And a staple of the holiday: red envelopes, called hongbao in Mandarin, or lai see in Cantonese, are filled with cash and given by married people to children, unmarried relatives and friends, and employees. The sum is typically an even number, and it shouldn’t contain the number four…

Inspired by: Find Religion.
From: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.

*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: My haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction
= Fiction or non…   &   Longer Strands = longer verse

.

.

.

.

.

.

10 thoughts on “ik 339 for February 2016 wp

      • LOL … I’ve already read that email – thank you – and I’ll be answering later – I have some odds and ends to do and maybe a nap – weather changes and I can’t sleep well *snorting* …. anyhow …. catch you soon …. and thank you 🙂

    • I actually read that when looking up about the holiday… Not here. Not enough of a mix in the population to warrant such a closing. Though our area gets out much sooner than most NY and NJ schools. I remember going to June 30 th no matter what. Also having longer spring and winter breaks in NY and NJ. Not so here. DIL’s last teaching day (not including snow make up days…) is June 3 nd.

Comments are closed.