ik 174 for August 2015 wp

ik 174
(American tanka)
Returned

in around midnight
time allowed me to ignore
his alarm clock buzz

to do list will be tackled
at a reasonable rate

*
Inspired by: Give sleep the attention it deserves.
from: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.
*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: my haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.
©JP/dh

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction = Fiction or non…   &   Longer Strands = longer verse

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

6 thoughts on “ik 174 for August 2015 wp

  1. Sleep deprivation has such adverse health effects – even changing how we are able to respond in the simplest of ways – often unknown to us.

    I think the difference lies in those who become addicted to the deprivation i.e. up all night filling time on computers, t.v. etc. as way of distraction from facing whatever truly needs addressing in their lives – often a lack of fulfillment on a deeply personal level.

    Then there are those who suffer from insomnia – for many different and valid reasons – and that in and of itself is hard to regulate and balance.

    But that’s the key – in my opinion – alignment.

    As one who has always preferred to sleep “in slices” of time – as needed – I find I work better when I don’t have to “fight this.” Unfortunately, the world now operates on a 24/7/365 schedule that in many ways, makes no sense, at least not to me.

    Learning to value sleep – to adjust and take the time to allow oneself to rest – trying for the best quality in order to restore – that is all one can hope for! All hail and praise to the “napping time!”

    • I think when I was younger I thought I needed less sleep. But there is that recommendation of a good eight hours for adults (more for teens). I wonder about those folks who only need four hours a night or just cat naps. Perhaps they just don’t remember their dreams?

      Read? I think I read a book when I was in Kentucky a few weeks back. Other than that I’m just trying to catch up reading my net friends 🙂

    • One learns to adjust. I used to have to wait for my boys to come home before I could go to sleep. Used to need dark and quiet. Now when I am tired…. I sleep. Yes the alarm can be disturbing, but I’ve mastered the art of ‘rolling over’ 😉

Comments are closed.