ik 168 for July 2015 wp

ik 168
(renga; as I was taught)
our blue moon phenom

does turning thirty
make a man; if just by deed
alone you are true

we have been lucky I think
to be your folks – you’ve said

good examples to
follow – without preaching such;
love, hugs and honor

*
Inspired by: Be as polite to your children
as you want them to be to you.
from: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.
*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: my haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.

©JP/dh
American renga syllable count
5/7/5 line space 7/7 line space 5/7/5
My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction = Fiction or non…   &   Longer Strands = longer verse

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

11 thoughts on “ik 168 for July 2015 wp

  1. Wonderful tribute to your son.

    I hope they both had wonderful celebrations and are as honored to have you and Hubby as parents. And that they enjoyed their fine poetic tributes!

  2. I spent Saturday with my girls. I’ve always had a tendency to nag and give unsolicited advice. This past Saturday I was able to hold my tongue even when I felt they were wrong. My daughters have tall egos and I want them to learn how to be a little humble. But I learned it’s not my place to teach them any more. I can only show them by my actions. I remember when I didn’t agree with my mother and today I find myself acting like her. This poem came to me right on time.

    • I remember growing up with the tail end of children should be seen and not heard. And well I don’t think that is the best way to deal with little people. I used to teach pre-school – and I always got down to be at face level to talk to a child. And respecting what they have to say. That just teaches them to respect everyone. Makes sense to me 🙂

      • And that is truly as it should be – because children – especially when they are that young and small – have voices, feelings, emotions and needs – and to be able to relate to them in a kind, non-threatening way, helps them feel safe, secure and respected. Good on you Jules 😀

Comments are closed.