ik 155 for July 2015 wp

ik 155
(American haiku, Elfje, American Haiku)
three cheers

just a simple smile
that a task was finished – do
you need a parade
*
laundry
washed, dried
folded and away
for another week – again
cheers
*
go on to the tap,
refresh with the reward of
a glass of water
*
Inspired by: Celebrate each thing you accomplish,
no matter how small.
from: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.
*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: my haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.

©JP/dh

My other main blogs that my icon may or may not go to when I leave a comment:
Flash Fiction   &  Longer Strands

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

8 thoughts on “ik 155 for July 2015 wp

    • The way I read it from the book it almost seemed like every moment should be made a big deal. If one does that then no accomplishment is special. One should do the right thing without regard for reward. Just that it is the right thing to do. But taking a large task and celebrating the stages could work. But each breath doesn’t deserve a piece of cake. I guess I was just in an odd mood with this, but celebrating can be good just as everything – in moderation. 🙂

      • Yes as the Latins would have said media stat virtus ..but an occasional celebration for just breathing can be called for from time to time 😉

        • I just see too much ‘instant gratification for things that just need doing just because. The child who always gets just to be quiet will never learn how to be quiet just because quiet is needed.

          I was just watching the show Mythbusters last night. And the hosts ran through a bunch of ‘tests’ trying to mimic video games in a real life take. And so yes after their run – to celebrate breathing at the end of that ‘run’ – I can see that! 😉

          Maybe I was just looking at the whole ‘celebrate’ concept with a slightly skewed view from the ‘me generation’ angle. There are so many who I am sure do just that daily; celebrate making it through another day.

          • I understand you point of view … there is often too much indulgence and ego in our modern society … as usual, we tend to swing like pendulums instead of finding the middle road :-/

  1. 😀 Some days, the smallest of things can seem monumental – but even if it’s a good day, why not celebrate and be mindful of all the little things we need to get done – and do – take the time to appreciate warm laundry being folded in hands – or if weather has permitted, the crisp snap of air-dried folding into geometric patterns? It’s in the details – all – ALL – in the details.
    (I have a “friend” who denies the details like they are the plague)

    Great piece 😀

      • Well, I suspect it’s because this person sees the world in black and white – and refuses to look beyond it – although she comes across as very “learned and knowledgeable” in a “word way.”

        But I’ve just learned to smile and forget it – she is not a creator – what she does create, let’s say a garden, is mildly successful – because she “goes by the books” — over analytical – everything has to fit neatly into tightly sealed boxes. So in essence, she prefers to see and destroy – as opposed to admitting her shortcomings – and working on changing them. Her loss.

Comments are closed.