ik 145 for July 2015 wp

ik 145

The American 767

Caller ID the Sliced Bread of Electronics

you need not note you are home;
‘Hello’ …pause…”Please leave your
very important message.”

Note: Telephone etiquette has changed.
Just because you are home does not mean
you have to answer your phone, which is your tool.
And one does not need to identify themselves first,
especially to telemarketers.

Inspired by: have a simple, direct message
on your answering machine.
from: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.
*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: my haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.

©JP/dh

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/06/27/bps-shadorma-beyond-june-27-2015/
Created by Dennis L. Dean. The American 767 is:
a tristich, a poem in 3 lines. (Cool thing to know!)
syllabic, 7-6-7 syllables per line. Unrhymed.
The original prompt asked to include a bug. Not sure if that is part of the script.
But then I often go of script 🙂

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

7 thoughts on “ik 145 for July 2015 wp

  1. My phone is here for my convenience, not the convenience of others. I sometimes wonder why people always ring when we are eating even though they know we will be eating at that time. They never get an answer but still continue to do it. There’s nothing stranger than folk.

    • They call during the dinner hour because that is when they suspect someone to be home. There is no regard for anything except the sale. Which is why I often just pick up and hang up. Especially when I don’t recognize the caller.

  2. True – very true!

    Remembering in the follies of youth – although I still love to do it – leaving recorded messages on the answering machine – the likes of silliness that would give those calling, complete pause for thought.

    The crazier, more absurd, out of the ordinary – the better. And how we laughed and hooted – especially when someone did leave a message – you could hear the “pause” in the voices. Hilarious!

    • Can’t really do ‘that’ anymore. As Caller ID works both ways.
      I called a business once to complain about something – I didn’t get the manager, left a message with a subordinate, didn’t leave my number. But the manager called me back!

      Now you’ll have to play your phone pranks at one of the few remaining pay phones or a burn ‘cell’ phone.

      Had a relative answer the phone; “City morgue. You stab ’em. We slab ’em.”

      • roflmao — and that is the best way to deal with life – with a sense of humor – thinking of making someone’s life a little more surreal.

        As for the caller ID etc. — if I’m willing to leave odd messages on my answering service – what do I care?!

        But there is such a things as “call block” – and here, you punch in a code – and it blocks your number; I suspect it doesn’t work in certain cases, like if you’re calling a government agency or whatever, but then again, what do I care?

        One year I sent in my 2 sets of income tax with post-it-notes- attached in various places – because the dog I had at the time, well, he got antsy and tried to eat my forms before I had a chance to mail them. I checked them to make sure all the important areas where the numerical values had to be clear – they were – and being the smart ass that I can be – I left notes for those who would be processing them : “since my dog can’t be considered a dependent, he’s decided to voice his opinion – have fun reading the booklet – oh and I agree with him” …. as you can imagine, the forms were chewed, full of holes, and dog slobber.

        I’ve always wondered – what did the person on the other end think?

        *snort* I’ve probably been “flagged” as an “undesirable” or “one to monitor” for all I know – or care!

        Just call me a “rebel” 😉

        • Oh, we had a trip up with our census one year. As we don’t like the long form questions. While I understand the principal – if you keep separating people how are you supposed to treat them equally?

          And didn’t fill them out. We got a call back… and well didn’t fill much then either. Frustrated the poor clerk who just gave up. Hubby said they probably went back and filled in answers to suit themselves. So I guess we are flagged by our government too. 🙂

Comments are closed.