ik 27 Feb 2015 for 2.20 wp

ik 27
for 2.20 Feb. 2015

get one subscription
and you will be subjected
to one hundred more

give out your email one time –
your inbox will overflow

machines have their use
of that there is no doubt… but
who is in control?

*
*
*
Inspired by: There are no coincidences.
from: Instant Karma by Barbara Ann Kipfer
8,879 ways to give yourself and others
good fortune right now.
*
*
Karma is cause and effect. Dharma means cosmic law.
Yoga is enlightenment through movement and Tao is the
practice of acting in harmony with the fundamental essence
of everything you encounter.

Note: my haiku (or other forms) are my interpretations
or of how I might put the inspirational sentence
into practice, for me. Also, I am going in my own order.

©JP/dh
Additional Note: For a very long time I had some control of my snail mail ads.
Then we were gifted with a magazine subscription and the junk mail (and calls too)
began to increase. As for email – even just one store request has it, your inbox
will be overflowing with their own ads every single day hawking some sale item.
Be careful too of ‘contest entrants’. While it is easy to toss and delete –
I still think I shall not get magazine subscriptions even for their discount
(because I only get a few and will pay full price when I do).
I have also slowed down on just who gets my e-mail address.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

9 thoughts on “ik 27 Feb 2015 for 2.20 wp

  1. Control is an elusive method when it comes to handling electronics. I need to readjust my
    filters on my wordpress account. I get way too many comments that are not generated by my interest or my choice. Thanks for this because it shows you have had subscriptions and email accounts generate more than you can handle, too!! hugs!

  2. I am inundated with catalogs. While I do shop from a few, they kept multiplying. I heard about a website (the name escapes me at the moment, Catalog Choice??) that supposedly allowed a person to opt out of catalogs that he/she didn’t want to receive so I went there and cancelled many of the more obscure ones. Then the catalogs multiplied even more and only one catalog company actually stopped sending me theirs so I stopped using it. Now they just go into the recycling bin immediately. Long story short, your haiku reminded me of it and how true your words are. ~nan

    • I was lucky to find a place for recycling magazines. With the monies raised going to a good cause… Though I’m not sure if they actually ever really empty the bin…The time I went to ‘put in my batch’ the huge container looked like it had not been disturbed for years.

      Our curbside only takes glass, cans, paper, and 1 & 2 plastic with necks. You might take some of the glossy pages, make squares and fold up some paper cranes 🙂
      The results can be quite charming.

  3. Yes the great spam scam continues. Even our own bank – plays loose with the rules. The local bank asks if there are concerns with e-mail or unsolicited phone calls. They put us on a no call list and head office ignores it. We got a call, my wife said we are on a list and the caller had the gall to offer to take care of it for us.

    urgent phone rings
    unasked, urge to shout – better,
    let silence ring out.

    I have been experimenting with a variety of writing form on my blog Implied Spaces – Haibun, senryu, tanka sequences, Fibku and Broken Folklore. 🙂

    • Often some banks will send you opt out information – but that would involve one to actually read through all the ad drivel before tossing out (or recycling) most of the paper. I shred the part with name and address.

      While I have a few extensions….I only have one ringer on. Most often bogus callers will not leave a message.
      But I look up the numbers – sometimes, just for fun.

        • We have a government Do Not Call and Do Not Fax list that we can register our numbers with. However spoofed and spam and unregulated honest numbers do not respect it. Some companies from overseas buy up blocks of good numbers to use for telemarketing. So sometimes when I go to look up a phone number through the net you can find Asian, Russian and other languages that have bought up these blocks of numbers but not the actual company which is notorious – at the very least, if legal, not very nice.

          However there are exemptions to the DNC lists.. Charity, Surveys, politicians and I think Debt collectors…So it is almost a useless. And I think you have to register every five years. But I’m not sure. Since only honest business recognize the list it doesn’t really help.

          Our phone company has limited recourse. You can get telephones that can block some numbers or areas – but they also have their limits 250 even 2,000 numbers. I’m not ready to use a computer program. I have caller ID so I don’t answer any calls I can’t identify.

Comments are closed.