going for a swim 1.22

going for a swim 1.23

https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/01/21/heeding-haiku-with-ha-be-a-judge/

going for a swim                         1.23
Moments like certain snacks; I can’t pick just one
Note: I first saw Tux Duck at least ten if not twenty years ago.
Some years I don’t see him at all. But I always smile when I see him..
I know which one I think should be the ‘moment in time’ but to me… I like them all.

around five o’clock
swam companionably
tux duck did with friends

even in winter, there
they swim in the creek, the ducks
saw them heading south

black and white the duck
amid mallards, hens and chicks
still around; tux duck

tux duck is all black
except for his white bow tie
stands out in the flock

wintering ducks swim
up the creek with foot paddles
in the evening

© JP/dh

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

10 thoughts on “going for a swim 1.22

  1. This is a great description for this particularly decorated duck, Jules! I love birds, ducks and other flying creatures, (butterflies and dragon flies…) they all make me think of escaping. The duck’s swimming up the creek with his foot paddles was ingenious, Jules! hugs

    • I’m not sure if the black and white duck is a different species. But he stands out from the majority of the mallards
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mallard
      evidently the ‘Black Duck’ is a close relative of the mallard. I just call the lone black duck ‘tux duck’ because it looks like he is wearing a tuxedo. Glad you enjoyed the verses 🙂

Comments are closed.