…full of reflection… a one-hundred word haibun :12.8

…full of reflection… a one-hundred word haibun
(CD timed prompt haibun 100 word limit)

Young ones never remember their first snow. My own children or my
grandchildren did not. I think I was three when I remembered my first
snow. And that’s only because there was a photo taken of two small
girls in the postage stamp concrete backyard of our grandparents city
home. Each of us on either side of a snowman – our faces ever so
proud of our accomplishment.

Now I long for first snows – their peace, their quiet.
Just the two of us enjoying the fires’ glow…

often in the cold north
first snows seems miraculous
full of reflection

©JP/dh

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.com/2014/12/carpe-diem-time-glass-13-first-snow.html

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

 

8 thoughts on “…full of reflection… a one-hundred word haibun :12.8

  1. WOW! Jules what a wonderful haibun … I can empathize with you, I can’t remember my first snow ever, but there is a photo which shows me in the snow … nowadays I am waiting for the first snow to fall and than I am in awe of it’s beauty and glow … it’s sound ….

    Reply
    • You are kind. One year we had a blizzard. And my hubby almost helped to deliver a baby up our street because the emergency vehicles had quite a time getting to our neighborhood. A first winter snow for that family to remember for a long time 😉

      Just last year or so that little boy, born in a hospital graduated High School 🙂

      Reply
  2. this is so beautiful…I don’t remember my first snow…I remember my kids not wanting to walk on the snow…too funny but they don’t remember …they were each one when they walked on their first snow…impossible to remember that. But the first snow of the season is always magical…maybe that;s why!!

    Reply
  3. I don’t remember my first either, but I remember one in which my younger sister and I tried to build a snowman with very little snow. We gathered the snow together into a short (a foot tall) column of snow. The rest of the front yard was then bare. Such is life (and first snows of the year)! ~Nan

    Reply
  4. I don’t remember mine either — I just remember a photo of a little girl standing next to a single spot of snow beside a Tucson cactus. 😉

    Love the haibun —

    Reply

Please do Pop in a Like :) if you're happy. As there isn't a like button - This is a PERSONAL ad free blog (WP had ads on free sites). Spam is not allowed. Please read 'The 411 Information Page' as to the how's and why's of how I run my site. URL track backs to code 404's (not found) - not honored.

